Assembly Science, Innovation and Technology

Group - D

Kennedy, Egan Jones, Pinkin Bill Establishing Innovation District Designation Program Approved by Assembly

As part of an effort to promote innovation and the development and redevelopment of an area through public-private partnerships, legislation sponsored by Assembly Democrats James Kennedy, Patricia Egan Jones and Nancy Pinkin establishing the "Innovation District Designation Program" within the New Jersey Commission on Science, Innovation and Technology was approved 77-0-0 on Monday by the full Assembly.

For More

Chiaravalloti, Benson Resolution Designating Second Week in March as "STEM Week" in New Jersey Approved by Assembly

Aiming to highlight the importance of New Jersey students participating in educational, internship and work study programs in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM), a resolution to designate the second week of March as "STEM Week" in New Jersey was approved 80-0-0 by the full Assembly Monday.

Assembly Democrats Nicholas Chiaravalloti (D-Hudson) and Daniel Benson (D-Mercer, Middlesex) are sponsors of the resolution (AJR-156) and released the following statement:

For More

Joint Committee Hearing on Importance of STEM Education; Legislative Panel to Discuss State Licensing System for Alcoholic Beverage Industry Highlight Thursday Assembly Agenda

The Assembly Science, Innovation and Technology and Assembly Education Committees will meet jointly off-site at 10:00 AM on The College of New Jersey campus, STEM Building, 2000 Pennington Road, Ewing Township, New Jersey 08618.

The Assembly Oversight, Reform and Federal Relations Committee will receive testimony from invited guests at 10:00 AM in Committee Room 11, 4th Floor of the Statehouse Annex, 125 West State Street, Trenton, New Jersey 08608.

For More

Zwicker on New Jersey Innovation Evergreen Fund

Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker (D-Somerset, Mercer, Middlesex, Hunterdon) issued the following statement Wednesday on today’s press conference on the New Jersey Innovation Evergreen Fund:

“The Evergreen Fund is an innovative approach to reclaiming New Jersey’s high-tech economy. New Jersey has historically been a hub of innovation, from the manufacturing of textiles and silk in Paterson, to Trenton’s steel cables, to the transistor, radar, and fiber optics, to Edison’s invention of the telephone, to one of our State’s true unsung heroes, Beatrice Hicks, who invented a gas density switch used by NASA on the Apollo mission to the Moon…"

For More