Scroll Top

Andrzejczak Appointed by Prieto to Chair Assembly Agriculture Committee

Assemblyman Robert Andrzejczak has been named the new chairman of the Assembly Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee by Assembly Speaker Vincent Prieto.

The Assembly Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee is responsible for monitoring issues that affect parks, farmland preservation, water resources and the growing agricultural industry. In addition to representing Atlantic and Cape May counties, Andrzejczak also represents Cumberland County, which is known as New Jersey’s “Garden Spot” and ranks number one in the state for vegetable, melon, potato, greenhouse, floriculture and sod production.

“Given his close ties to some of the best farmlands in the Garden State, Assemblyman Andrzejczak understands how important it is to have strong advocates for our farmers and the agricultural community as a whole, making him a clear choice to guide this committee,” said Prieto (D-Bergen/Hudson).

“As the ‘Garden State,’ agriculture is part of our legacy,” said Andrzejczak (D-Cape May/Atlantic/Cumberland). “Whether it is preserving farmland and open space, standing up for the rights of our farmers, protecting our water resources or promoting Jersey Fresh produce, our agricultural community needs constant advocacy. As chairman, that is what I am committed to doing.”

Andrzejczak was sworn into the Assembly last March to fill the seat vacated by the resignation of Matthew Milam and he was re-elected to a full term this past November. A combat veteran of the Iraqi war, Andrzejczak is the recipient of both the Bronze Star with Valor and the Purple Heart, among numerous other distinctions.

Andrzejczak represents the 1st Legislative District, which is comprised of the towns of Avalon, Cape May, Cape May Point, Commercial, Corbin City, Dennis, Downe, Estell Manor, Fairfield, Greenwich, Hopewell, Lawrence, Lower, Maurice River, Middle, Millville, North Wildwood, Ocean City, Sea Isle City, Shiloh, Stone Harbor, Stow Creek, Upper, Vineland, West Cape May, West Wildwood, Weymouth, Wildwood, Wildwood Crest, and Woodbine.