Andrzejczak & Van Drew to Convene First Meeting of ‘1st Legislative District Economic Development Task Force’

TRENTON – Senator Jeff Van Drew and Sgt. Assemblyman Bob Andrzejczak will convene the inaugural meeting of the 1st Legislative District Economic Development Task Force tomorrow at Atlantic Cape Community College at the Cape May Court House campus. The task force is made up of a bipartisan group of residents from Cape May, Cumberland and Atlantic counties, and is charged with studying and recommending ways to improve economic conditions in the 1st Legislative District, one of the most economically depressed areas of New Jersey.

The panel will hear from invited guests on the current economic issues facing the district. Presenters will include: Richard Perniciaro, vice president of Planning, Research, Facilities & Executive Support at Atlantic Cape Community College and also a member of the task force. Jim Watson, Cumberland County Economic Development Director, will also present to the panel. A meeting will be held at a later date to hear testimony exclusively from the public.

“Our region is faced with some of the most significant economic challenges in the state. This is the start of our work to drill down on these issues and to find ways to improve conditions for our residents over the long-term,” said Senator Van Drew (D-Cape May, Cumberland and Atlantic), chair of the task force. “We will meet in every county in the district, and hear from experts, business officials, labor and, most importantly, from the public. We are all committed to this important effort, and we look forward to the work ahead.”

“Too many people in our region are unemployed or underemployed and are struggling to make ends meet. This only contributes to the other lingering issues that many families in this region are experiencing. We have to find creative ways to improve opportunities for our residents, and this task force is committed to doing that,” said Assemblyman Andrzejczak, vice-chair of the task force.

The task force will meet TOMORROW at 1 PM at Atlantic Cape Community College, Cape May Campus Atrium, 341 Court House-South Dennis Road, Cape May Court House, NJ.

The membership of the task force is as follows:
· Senator Jeff Van Drew, Chairman
· Sgt. Assemblyman Bob Andrzejczak, Vice Chairman

Local Officials
· Joseph Derella, Cumberland County Freeholder Director
· Frank Formica, Atlantic County Freeholder Director
· Leonard Desiderio, Cape May County Freeholder Vice Director
· Norris Clark, Lower Township Deputy Mayor
· James Quinn, Millville Vice-Mayor/Director of Revenue and Finance
· Anthony Fanucci, Vineland City Council President

· Thomas Isekenegbe, Ph.D, President, Cumberland County College President
· Peter Mora, Ph.D, President, Atlantic Cape Community College
· Herman Saatkamp Jr., Ph.D, The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey President
· Richard Perniciaro, Vice President, Atlantic Cape Community College Planning, Research, Facilities & Executive Support

Business/Economic Development Expertise
· Michele Brown, Chief Executive Officer, New Jersey Economic Development Authority
· Vicki Clark, President, Cape May County Chamber of Commerce
· Chuck Wyble, President, Greater Millville Chamber of Commerce
· Victor Nappen, Chairperson, Greater Atlantic City Chamber of Commerce
· Dawn Hunter, Executive Director, Greater Vineland Chamber of Commerce
· Bill Nardelli, President, Nardelli Lake View Farm and Produce
· Jeffrey Reichle, President, Lunds Fisheries
· Curtis Bashaw, Co-Founder, Co-Managing Partner, Cape Advisors and Cape Resorts Group
· Barbara Jones, Owner, Servpro Cape May & Cumberland Counties
· John Asselta, Production Supervisor, Progresso Foods
· Ray Burke, Dealer Principal, Burke Motor Group
· Ralph Cooper, Board Member, Upper Township Business Association
· Carol Johnston, Director of Medical, Industrial, and Heavy Equipment for the Medical Consultants Instructional Training Center
· Roy Foster, IBEW Local 351 Assistant Business Manager.