Scroll Top

Assembly Democratic Measure to Urge Reauthorization of National Flood Insurance Program Clears Assembly Panel

To protect the future of the National Flood Insurance Program, a measure (AJR-28) sponsored by Assembly Democrats Joann Downey (D-Monmouth), Speaker Craig Coughlin (D-Middlesex), Eric Houghtaling (D-Monmouth), Vince Mazzeo (D- Atlantic) and Benjie Wimberly (D-Bergen, Passiac) to urge Congress to enact a long-term reauthorization of the National Flood Insurance Program was approved Monday by the Assembly Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee.

The measure’s sponsors released the following joint statement:

“The National Flood Insurance Program serves as a vital resource for victims of natural disasters. It’s helped countless New Jerseyans in their time of need, including Hurricane Sandy victims. Unfortunately, the program has operated under several short-term reauthorizations since 2017, and is set to expire again on May 31 unless Congress takes action.

“We cannot let victims of flooding go without the help provided by NFIP, particularly as we begin to see more frequent natural disasters across the country. Through this measure, we are sending a clear message to Washington that we in New Jersey support and will stand up for this indispensable program to ensure its future is protected.”