Scroll Top

Calabrese Assigned to Assembly Environment & Solid Waste Committee

Assemblyman Clinton Calabrese has been appointed by Speaker Craig Coughlin as the newest member of the Environment and Solid Waste Committee.

During his time in the Assembly, Calabrese has sponsored a number of bills aiming to protect the environment and promote environmental conscientiousness throughout New Jersey. One such measure signed into law during the 2018-2019 legislative session directed the Department of Agriculture to establish a public awareness campaign about food waste, encouraging residents to donate or compost their unused food.

Environmental legislation he currently sponsors along with his legislative colleagues include:

  • a bill requiring electric power sold in the state to be from zero-carbon sources within the next three decades;
  • a measure to prohibit the disposal, storage or release of byproducts and waste from natural gas exploration and ‘fracking’ within the state;
  • bills restricting certain harmful pesticides, and more.

The Assemblyman has also taken an active role in opposing ventures that could increase pollution and harm residents while endorsing calls for a moratorium on fossil fuel projects.

In regards to his new committee role, Assemblyman Calabrese (D-Bergen, Passaic) released the following statement:

“I am excited to join my fellow colleagues on the Assembly Environment and Solid Waste Committee as we consider bills that will preserve, protect and ultimately help our environment thrive. I know just how important this work will be at a time when our state faces impending crises brought about by climate change.

“The environment is and always has been something I am greatly passionate about. One of our greatest priorities must be to preserve nature and leave a better world for the next generation.

“I look forward to working under the leadership of Chairman Kennedy and Vice-Chairman Tully to advance legislation that can enact meaningful environmental change on behalf of current and future New Jersey residents.”