Scroll Top


(7th LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT) – Assemblyman Herbert C. Conaway M.D. – the New Jersey Legislature’s only member with both a law and medical degree – has again been named chairman of the Assembly Health and Senior Services Committee.
Conaway (D-Burlington) was named to the post by Assembly Speaker Sheila Y. Oliver (D-Essex/Passaic), Majority Leader Lou Greenwald (D-Camden) and the Assembly Democratic leadership team.
The Assembly Health and Senior Services Committee is responsible for the oversight of health care policy. Its focus is legislation that works to prevent disease, promote well-being at all life stages and encourage informed choices that enrich the quality of life for residents and communities.
“Quite simply, there is no one better to lead this panel than Dr. Conaway,” Greenwald said. “His expertise and understanding of the issues are unmatched. He doesn’t just devise health care policy. He lives it each and every day. We’re lucky to have him and look forward to his continued leadership.”
“This is a crucial time for health care policy in the state of New Jersey,” Conaway said. “We must ensure the unfolding federal reforms are maximized to our advantage, all while heath care for women, seniors and the poor are leading concerns. It’s going to take a lot of study and work over the next two years to protect them as much as possible, but I’m ready to continue working hard to do what’s best for patients and seniors.”
Conaway, of Delanco, was first elected to the New Jersey General Assembly on November 4, 1997. He received his Bachelor of Arts in politics from Princeton University; his Doctor of Medicine from Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia; and his Juris Doctor from Rutgers Law School in Camden. He served in the United States Air Force Medical Corps and attained the rank of Captain.
Conaway specializes in internal medicine and practices in Willingboro and Trenton.
Conaway represents the 7th Legislative District, which includes the Burlington County municipalities of Beverly, Bordentown City, Bordentown Township, Burlington City, Burlington Township, Cinnaminson, Delanco, Delran, Edgewater Park, Fieldsboro, Florence, Moorestown, Mount Laurel, Palmyra, Riverside, Riverton and Willingboro.
He will also be the vice chairman of the Assembly State Government Committee and serve on the Assembly Appropriations Committee.