Scroll Top

Johnson to Join Assembly Leadership Team As Speaker Pro Tempore

Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin on Monday announced Assemblyman Gordon Johnson of the 37th Legislative District will be appointed to the leadership seat of Assembly Speaker Pro Tempore.

As speaker pro tempore, Johnson is given the responsibility to preside over the House in the speaker’s absence, exercise the powers and duties of the speaker in his absence and assume other duties as assigned by the speaker. He will be sworn-in during the Thursday voting session, May 24.

“I thank Speaker Coughlin for his appointment and the opportunity to join the leadership team,” said Johnson (D-Bergen). “We have made great strides in New Jersey over the years for the simple reason that we continue to keep and address the issues that are most critical to New Jersey citizens at the forefront of the work we do. I look forward to working with the Speaker and the members of the caucus on an agenda that will continue to make New Jersey better.”

Johnson was elected to the General Assembly in 2002 and currently serves as Deputy Speaker. He has served previously as Majority Conference Leader (2012-13), and Deputy Conference Leader (2010-2011).

“It has been a pleasure to serve with Gordon over the years,” said Majority Leader Lou Greenwald. “His appointment as speaker pro tempore is only fitting for a legislator with his experience and tenure. I’m very proud to welcome him to the leadership team.”

“We welcome Assemblyman Johnson to the team,” said Majority Conference Leader Shavonda Sumter. “His experience as a legislator has always been and will continue to be, especially in his new leadership role, an asset to the caucus as we move forward on this session’s agenda.”

“I applaud the Speaker’s selection of Johnson as the new speaker pro tempore,” said Budget Chair Eliana Pintor Marin. “His evident leadership as chairman of Assembly Commerce and Economic Development and as an experienced lawmaker will be an asset as he takes on this position.”

A former Bergen County Sheriff, Johnson currently chairs the Assembly Commerce and Economic Development Committee, and is a member of the Assembly Budget and Judiciary Committees.