Scroll Top

Lopez Applauds Diversity of Congressional Redistricting Commission

With the announcement of six Democratic  members to New Jersey’s bi-partisan Congressional Redistricting Commission, the group’s formation is complete. Members are chosen for this commission by both Democrats and Republicans every ten years and charged with redrawing the state’s Congressional districts based on updated Census data and Congressional apportionment.

As an advocate for greater diversity in state government, Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez (D-Middlesex) issued the following statement in response to the naming of the commission’s members:

“I am thrilled to see the diversity of this year’s Congressional Redistricting Commission and applaud the choices of Senate President Sweeney, Speaker Coughlin and New Jersey Democratic State Committee Chairman Currie.

“For the first time in our state’s long history, this group will have a female majority. The racial and ethnic diversity of the members chosen for this commission is also significant. With millions of African American, Hispanic and Asian-American residents in our state, this commission is a true reflection of New Jersey’s many different communities.”