Scroll Top

Lopez, Mejia & Chaparro Bill to Create NJ Puerto Rico Commission Heads to Governor

Legislation (A-4188) to establish a New Jersey Puerto Rico Commission in the Department of State received final legislative approval on Monday, passing the full Assembly by a vote of 71-1. The measure passed the Senate in December 2018 , 40-0.

Bill sponsors Assembly Democrats Yvonne Lopez (D-Middlesex), Pedro Mejia (D-Bergen, Hudson) and Annette Chaparro (D-Hudson) released the following joint statement:

“Many residents and communites in our state share a proud Puerto Rican heritage. We recognize that we can help our fellow Americans on the Island by creating a commission to promote business, advance trade, and spur investments between New Jersey and Puerto Rico. Based on the recommendations of the former New Jersey Puerto Rico Relief Commission, we learned that our state and Puerto Rico stand to benefit from continued partnerships. The work of this commission is incredibly important to securing Puerto Rico’s future while benefiting residents here in the Garden State.”