Scroll Top

Lopez Named Vice-Chair of Assembly Transportation and Independent Authorities Committee

Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin has tapped Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez (D-Middlesex) to serve as vice-chair of the Assembly Transportation and Independent Authorities Committee.

The committee focuses on improving transportation operations across the state, including NJ Transit, roadway safety and bridge and highway construction.

“I’m grateful to Speaker Coughlin for his confidence and this opportunity,” said Lopez, who represents the 19th legislative district. “I’ve served on this committee since I joined the Assembly in 2018, and I’ve seen the wide array of transportation problems facing our State. These are issues that affect every New Jersey resident; that’s why the work of this committee is so important. As the most densely populated state in the nation, we must ensure people are able to get where they need to go quickly and conveniently.”

In addition to her role on the Transportation Committee, Lopez is a member of the Environment and Solid Waste, Financial Institutions and Insurance, and Oversight, Reform and Federal Relations Committees.