Scroll Top

Prieto to Take Oath as Speaker, Greenwald To Return as Majority Leader & New Assembly Members to Be Sworn Into Office

(TRENTON) – Vincent Prieto will take the oath again as the New Jersey General Assembly Speaker, Lou Greenwald will return as Assembly majority leader and members elected in November will take their oaths when the Assembly reorganizes on Tuesday.
The Tuesday proceedings will take place at noon in the Patriots Theater at the War Memorial near the State House in Trenton.
The membership of the Democratic caucus in November designated Prieto (D-Hudson/Bergen) to lead the People’s House. The Secaucus resident will remain the 170th Speaker and the second Cuban American to hold the post.
The caucus also designated Greenwald (D-Camden/Burlington) to return for a second stint as Majority Leader.
Jerry Green (D-Union/Middlesex/Somerset) will return as Assembly Speaker Pro Tempore, with Shavonda Sumter (D-Passaic/Bergen) returning as Majority Conference Leader and Gary Schaer (D-Passaic/Bergen) as Assembly Budget Committee chairman.
Democrats will control the Assembly 52-28.
The 80 Assembly members will be sworn to two-year terms, including new members elected in November. For the Assembly Democrats the new members are:
· Bruce Land, of District 1;
· Arthur Barclay, of District 5;
· Joann Downey and Eric Houghtaling, of District 11;
· Andrew Zwicker, of District 16;
· James Kennedy, of District 22;
· Angela McKnight and Nicholas Chiaravalloti of District 31; and
· Annette Chaparro, of District 33.