Scroll Top

Speaker Coughlin Announces Assembly Committee Chair Appointments for 220th Session

Organization of the 220th New Jersey Legislature saw a strong 46-member Assembly Democratic majority installed on Tuesday. Speaker Craig J. Coughlin (D-Middlesex) begins a historic third term as Speaker, and announced today the chairs of Assembly committees.

“I am inspired by the knowledge, depth, and character of our chairs,” said Speaker Coughlin. “These chairs will be the leaders crafting our legislative agenda for the next two years as we chart a path through these difficult times. The road to recovery from this pandemic will be difficult, but I know this group of amazing individuals is more than up to the task.”

Nine Assembly members will become a committee chair for the first time. Additionally, the Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee will become the Agriculture and Food Security Committee, reflecting a long-standing priority of Speaker Coughlin to address hunger.

The new committee Chair appointments are as follows:

  • Agriculture and Food Security – Asm. Roy Freiman (D-Somerset, Mercer, Middlesex, Hunterdon)
  • Appropriations – Asw. Lisa Swain (D- Bergen, Passaic)
  • Commerce and Economic Development – Asw. Britnee Timberlake (D-Essex, Passaic)
  • Homeland Security – Asw. Shanique Speight (D-Essex)
  • Housing – Asw. Yvonne Lopez (D-Middlesex)
  • Human Services – Asw. Angelica Jimenez (D-Bergen, Hudson)
  • Law and Public Safety – Asm. Bill Spearman (D-Camden, Gloucester)
  • Science, Innovation and Technology – Asm. Chris Tully (D- Bergen, Passaic)
  • State and Local Government – Asm. Anthony Verrelli (D-Mercer, Hunterdon)

Previously serving as Chair of Homeland Security, Assemblywoman Angela McKnight (D-Hudson) will move to a new appointment as Chair of the Assembly Aging and Senior Services Committee.

Remaining Assembly committees will see the return of 219th session chairs. Reappointments are as follows:

  • Budget – Asw. Eliana Pintor-Marin (D-Essex)
  • Community Development & Affairs – Asw. Shavonda E. Sumter (D-Paterson)
  • Consumer Affairs – Asm. Paul D. Moriarty (D-Gloucester)
  • Education – Asw. Pamela R. Lampitt (D-Burlington)
  • Environment and Solid Waste – Asm. James Kennedy (D-Middlesex, Somerset, Union)
  • Financial Institutions and Insurance – Asm. John F. McKeon (D-Essex)
  • Health and Senior Services – Asm. Herb Conaway, Jr. (D-Burlington)
  • Higher Education – Asw. Mila Jasey (D-Essex)
  • Judiciary – Asm. Raj Mukherji (D-Hudson)
  • Labor – Asm. Joseph V. Egan (D-Middlesex)
  • Military and Veterans’ Affairs – Asw. Cleopatra Tucker (D-Essex)
  • Oversight, Reform and Federal Relations – Asm. Joseph Danielsen (D-Somerset)
  • Regulated Professions – Asm. Thomas Giblin (D-Essex)
  • Telecommunications and Utilities – Asm. Wayne DeAngelo (D-Mercer)
  • Tourism, Gaming and the Arts – Asm. Ralph Caputo (D-Essex)
  • Transportation and Independent Authorities – Asm. Daniel R. Benson (D-Mercer)
  • Women and Children – Asw. Gabriela Mosquera (D-Gloucester)
  • Special Committee on Infrastructure and Natural Resources – Asm. Robert J. Karabinchak (D-Middlesex)

The Assembly Democratic Caucus will be the first legislative caucus in New Jersey history to be majority non-white. Two-thirds of those taking the gavel as committee chairs for the first time will be women or people of color.