Scroll Top

Speaker Coughlin Names New Assembly Environment Committee Chairman

(TRENTON) – Assembly Speaker Craig J. Coughlin announced Friday that Assembly Environment and Solid Waste Committee vice chair, James Kennedy will take over as chair of the committee effective immediately. Assemblyman Kennedy succeeds former Assemblywoman Nancy Pinkin as chair of the panel. Pinkin recently left the Legislature after being elected Middlesex County Clerk in November.

“I’ve known Assemblyman Kennedy for many years and I know him to be a passionate advocate for the environment. He has proven that time and again during his tenure as vice-chair of the Environment Committee,” said Coughlin (D-Middlesex). “I look forward to working with the Assemblyman to help craft meaningful bills to address climate change, clean energy and more. I know he will be a strong leader on environmental issues across-the-board.”

During his time in the Legislature, Kennedy has helped spearhead efforts to address open space preservation, renewable energy, natural resource restoration, eliminating combined sewer overflows, clean air and more. Kennedy is currently leading the charge on increasing access to electric vehicle charging stations and to improve recycling efforts throughout New Jersey.

“I am honored that Speaker Coughlin has selected me as chair of the Assembly Environment Committee,” said Kennedy (D-Middlesex, Somerset, Union). “New Jersey is confronting many environmental issues that must be addressed. As chairman, I pledge to be a tireless fighter on behalf of the State’s nine million residents and a staunch defender of the environment so that clean air and clean water are preserved for the generations to come.”

Kennedy has been a member of the New Jersey General Assembly since 2016. He also serves as Vice Chairman of the Assembly Tourism, Gaming and the Arts Committee and is a member of the Assembly Transportation and Independent Authorities Committee.