Scroll Top

Speaker Coughlin Secures Historic Third Term, Announces Assembly Democrats Senior Leadership Team for 220th Session

Members of the Assembly Democratic Caucus convened Thursday to select members of the Senior Leadership Team for the 220th legislative session. At a press conference, Assemblyman Craig J. Coughlin (D-Middlesex) announced the Caucus’ vote by acclamation to select him to serve another, history-making term as the Speaker of the New Jersey General Assembly.

“I am deeply grateful to have the trust and confidence of my Caucus members to serve as Assembly Speaker for a third term,” said Speaker Coughlin. “In these past four years, we did not shy away from tackling the big issues. We raised the minimum wage, we made climate response a real priority, reinvigorated our state’s economic competitiveness, and addressed serious institutional inequities.”

Garnering the support to secure a historic third term as Speaker, Coughlin will be the first Democratic Assembly Speaker to serve three consecutive two-year terms. Alongside him, Majority Leader Greenwald (D-Camden, Burlington) will serve a seventh term in his leadership position and Majority Conference Leader Quijano (D-Union) will begin a second term. Assemblyman Benjie Wimberly (D-Bergen, Passaic) will become Speaker Pro Tempore.

“The charge ahead is to keep building policy for transformative and lasting change. We’re aiming to get to the heart of some of the deepest inequalities laid bare by the pandemic – from housing security, food access, and small business resilience to childcare, education, and mental health,” said Speaker Coughlin. “Leading our chamber, I am once again confident that working with my leadership team, the members of our caucus, our colleagues across the aisle, and in partnership with the Senate and Governor, we will build on the progress of these past for years.”

Members for the 220th legislative session will be officially sworn in during early January 2022 when an official leadership election vote will take place.