Scroll Top


IRS, State Extend Deadlines for Counties Designated Federal Disaster Areas

TRENTON — Senate President Stephen M. Sweeney, Assemblyman John Burzichelli and Assemblywoman Celeste Riley announced today that Gloucester County residents will have additional time to file their income tax returns under a deadline extension granted by the Internal Revenue Service to counties hit by last month’s nor’easter.

The IRS postponed the April 15 deadline until May 11 for taxpayers who live or own a business in Gloucester, as well as 11 other New Jersey counties designated federal disaster areas as a result of a storm that caused major flooding last month.

Officials at the New Jersey Division of Taxation said they also will extend the state filing deadline to May 11.

“Later filing deadlines will give residents much-needed time to assess damage the storm may have caused, and decide how to go about recouping losses in a way that provides the most benefit,” said Senator Sweeney (D-Gloucester/Cumberland/Salem).

Taxpayers affected by the storm have the option of claiming disaster-related casualty losses on their federal income tax return for either 2009 or 2010. Claiming the loss on a 2009 return will ensure an earlier refund, according to the IRS, but waiting to claim the loss for 2010 could result in greater savings.

“With the federal and state deadlines extended, Gloucester County residents can now breathe a sigh of relief,” said Assemblywoman Riley (D-Cumberland/Gloucester/Salem). “A few extra weeks to file will prevent them from having to scramble to gather important paperwork needed for their returns.”

The federal extension applies to 2009 individual income tax returns, as well as income tax payments and 2009 contributions to an individual retirement account (IRA). The IRS will also waive failure to deposit penalties for employment and excise deposits due on or after March 12 and on or before March 29, as long as the deposits were made by March 29.

New Jersey officials said they are currently reviewing state law and will match the additional considerations offered to flood victims by the federal government to the extent possible.

“Last month’s storm caused real hardship to Gloucester County residents. Any assistance the government can provide to make the tax filing process easier will go a long way,” said Assemblyman Burzichelli (Gloucester/Cumberland/Salem). “I am hopeful the state will move quickly to follow the federal government’s lead to grant additional benefits to taxpayers, to the extent that the law will allow.”

In addition to Gloucester, the following counties received federal disaster designations: Atlantic, Bergen, Cape May, Essex, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Passaic, Somerset and Union.

IRS computer systems will automatically apply the extension to taxpayers in those counties.

More information can be found at, by typing “Disaster Assistance and Emergency Relief for Individuals and Businesses” in the search bar.

On the Net:
The Assembly Democratic Office Web site
NJ Assembly Dems on YouTube
NJ Assembly Dems on Vimeo
NJ Assembly Dems on Facebook
NJ Assembly Dems on Twitter
NJ Assembly Dems on Flickr
NJ Assembly Dems e-mail alerts