Scroll Top

Tuesday – Coughlin to Take Oath as Assembly Speaker, Green & Greenwald To Continue Leadership Posts & New Assembly Members to Be Sworn Into Office

Green Returns as Speaker Pro Tempore & Greenwald as Majority Leader
Democrats John Armato, Carol Murphy, Roy Freiman, Yvonne Lopez, Shanique Speight to Join Assembly

(TRENTON) – Craig Coughlin will take the oath as the new General Assembly Speaker, Jerry Green will take the oath again as Assembly Speaker Pro Tempore, Lou Greenwald will return as Assembly Majority Leader and five newly elected Democrats will take their oaths when the New Jersey General Assembly reorganizes on Tuesday.
The Tuesday proceedings will take place at noon in the Patriots Theater at the War Memorial near the State House in Trenton.
The membership of the Democratic caucus in November designated Coughlin (D-Middlesex) to lead the Assembly during this 2018-19 legislative session. The Woodbridge resident will preside over an Assembly led by Democrats 54-26 – the largest Democratic majority since 1978.
During the ceremony, the 80 Assembly members will be sworn to the two-year terms they won in November’s election, including new members elected in November. For Assembly Democrats the new members are:
· John Armato, of District 2 in Atlantic City;
· Carol Muprhy, of District 7 in Burlington County;
· Roy Freiman, of District 16, in Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex and Somerset counties;
· Yvonne Lopez, of District 19, in Middlesex County; and
· Shanique Speight, of District 29, in Essex County.
A section of the balcony will be reserved for print media.
Broadcast media and news photographers may use the rear side aisles of the orchestra section.