Scroll Top

Vitale, Coughlin and Lopez on DEP Recycling Grants

With the goal of enhancing recycling efforts, the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) has announced it is awarding more than $14 million in grants to county and municipal governments. All five of the municipalities in the 19th District, Carteret, Perth Amboy, Sayreville, South Amboy and Woodbridge will receive a combined total of nearly $400,000 in DEP grants.

“We must do all we can to protect our environment and recycling is a key component in that effort,” said Senator Joe Vitale (D-Middlesex). “We hope these grants will help educate the public about the importance of recycling.”

The grants are awarded annually and are used to increase recycling rates by conducting outreach programs, establishing curbside recycling pickup programs and more.

“As we combat climate change and seek to reduce our carbon footprint, recycling becomes more important than ever,” said Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin (D-Middlesex). “The grants awarded by the DEP will help communities engage the public and also fund recycling coordinators at the local level.”

“I thank the DEP for providing these critical recycling grants,” said Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez (D-Middlesex). “The funding will assist our municipalities in researching, designing and implementing meaningful recycling programs and help them create effective public outreach campaigns.”

Five municipalities in Middlesex County’s 19th Legislative District will receive DEP recycling grants:

  • Carteret – $40,309.06
  • Perth Amboy – $71,603.67
  • Sayreville – $62,339.08
  • South Amboy – $12,116.88
  • Woodbridge – $211,903.19

To learn more about recycling in New Jersey, visit