Scroll Top

Wimberly Re-Elected Assembly Co-Chair of Joint Committee on Economic Justice and Equal Employment Opportunity in NJ

Seeking ways to develop legislative actions and find solutions that address unemployment in New Jersey, Assemblyman Benjie E. Wimberly (D-Bergen, Passaic) was re-elected Tuesday as co-chairman of the Joint Committee on Economic Justice and Equal Employment Opportunity, a legislative panel formed in 2014 to study equality in relation to New Jersey’s economy and employment opportunity. Senator Ronald Rice (D-Essex) was re-elected chair for the Senate.

“I am honored to be re-elected for this position that will allow me to continue working towards helping more New Jerseyans obtain employment that will serve as the vehicle whereby their families can thrive,” said Wimberly. “There is still much work to do, however, through collaborative efforts and thinking outside of the box, we can create employment initiatives that benefit jobs-seekers in our communities throughout the state.”

Assemblyman Wimberly was re-elected at a meeting of the committee during which members heard testimony regarding opportunities designed to foster opportunities for women and minority groups in the construction industry.

“Hearing from the construction industry was eye opening, because as with any testimony, it allows us to get a better picture of the issues from those directly impacted,” he said.

Wimberly is among five Assembly members assigned to the joint committee. He was also a sponsor of the legislation which formed the committee. The joint committee is authorized, empowered, and directed to conduct a continuing study of issues concerning economic justice and equal employment opportunity through meetings and hearings held around the state.

The committee consists of 10 members of the Legislature, from either House, regardless of political party affiliation, and will be nominated and appointed by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the General Assembly, as appropriate. Four members were nominated by the President of the Senate; one member nominated by the Senate Minority Leader; four members nominated by the Speaker of the General Assembly; and one member nominated by the Assembly Minority Leader. All members serve without compensation and vacancies in the membership of the joint committee are filled in the same manner as the original appointments made.

The joint committee reports its findings to the Legislature on a routine basis and has made other reports as appropriate.