Scroll Top

Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez Receives Recognition from National Women’s Organization

The National Foundation for Women Legislators (NFWL) is proud to announce Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez as a 2018 Elected Women of Excellence Award winner.

This award was created to identify women who have worked tirelessly, often breaking down barriers and overcoming obstacles that once seemed insurmountable, to serve their communities. These pacesetters have engendered an environment where women can now serve in public office and fight for the issues they are passionate about.

The 2018 Women of Excellence honoree will be presented with an award at the Women of Excellence reception at the beautiful Newseum the night of Tuesday, November 13, 2018 during NFWL’s 80th Annual Conference in Washington, D.C.
The reception will bring together elected women conference attendees from across the country to recognize the accomplishments of Women of Excellence Award Winners.

“Part of the spirit of NFWL is that we take time to acknowledge the significant accomplishments of the hardworking and dedicated women around us, and we are delighted to recognize this year’s honorees,” shares NFWL Executive Director Jody Thomas.

Assemblywoman Lopez represents the 19th Legislative District, which includes Carteret, Woodbridge, South Amboy, Perth Amboy and Sayreville. She is the Vice-chair of the Environment and Solid Waste Committee and is a member of the Transportation and Independent Authorities, Financial Institutions and Insurance and Oversight, Reform and Federal Relations committees.

The winners were nominated by their colleagues and constituents from their home states, before being chosen by a distinguished panel of NFWL members.

“We congratulate our winners from this year and look forward presenting them with their award in November,” Thomas concludes.