Scroll Top

Lopez to Continue as Chair of the Assembly Housing Committee in the 221st Legislative Session

TRENTON (January 25, 2024) — Assembly Speaker Craig J. Coughlin has named Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez to continue in her role as chair of the Assembly Housing Committee for the new legislative session.   

The Assembly Housing Committee is responsible for reviewing legislation dealing with municipalities, counties, local finance, local public contracts, property taxes, local authorities, housing, land use, zoning and planning.

“I would like to thank Speaker Coughlin for his continued confidence and support in leading one of the most important committees in the Assembly,” said Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez (D-Middlesex). “Over the course of my tenure as Chair of the Housing Committee, we have worked hard to reduce housing insecurity, increase housing resilience and prevent disaster by addressing structural safety in aging housing stock. This session, I look forward to continuing to address the housing issues facing our State, most notably the need for more affordability for our families and residents. Addressing affordable housing will be a key focus of the committee in the 221st Legislative Session to ensure every New Jerseyan has access to a safe and affordable roof over their heads.”

In the new session, Lopez will also serve as Deputy Speaker and as the vice chair of the newly created Community Development and Women’s Affairs Committee. She has been a member of the General Assembly since 2018.

Assemblywoman Lopez